Our website address is: https://naoms.com.ng.

Specialisation in medicine, surgery and dentistry was uncommon in the early history of orthodox medicine in Nigeria. The establishment of the University College Ibadan (UCI) in 1948 as an affiliate of the University of London brought some significant changes to the practice of medicine and dentistry. The University College Hospital (UCH), the teaching hospital to the new college attracted a few specialists along with medical experts that were deployed from the UK. Among such was Professor Horatio Oritsejolomi Thomas, a Nigerian general surgeon who took particular interest in Oral and Maxillofacial surgery and operated on cases coming from all parts of the country at the UCH Ibadan, between 1952 and 1962

Professor Thomas moved to Lagos in 1962 as the foundation dean of the then newly established College of Medicine of the University of Lagos, and for clinical practice he was largely responsible for surgery in oral and maxillofacial region.

The first appointment of a trained maxillofacial surgeon was that of Dr J. O. Akinosi, as a lecturer in surgery at the University of Ibadan and a consultant maxillofacial surgeon at the UCH Ibadan in 1966.

During the civil war, the Federal Government, in response to the large numbers of war casualties, established an emergency maxillofacial surgery unit at the Military Hospital Kaduna in 1968. This unit was set up by a tripartite arrangement of the Overseas Development Agency of United Kingdom, the Royal Air Force and the Nigerian Armed Forces Medical Services. It was later ceded to the Ahmadu Bello University (ABU) Zaria. Experts from the UK came for short periods to assist in the treatment of the war casualties with oral and maxillofacial injuries. Amongst them are Terence Ward, Michael Awty and Peter Banks. Dr Adekeye was the Nigerian counterpart for this program. By the end of the war, he continued to provide maxillofacial surgical services and training of maxillofacial surgeons in the Unit.

If you leave a comment on our site you may opt-in to saving your name, email address and website in cookies. These are for your convenience so that you do not have to fill in your details again when you leave another comment. These cookies will last for one year.

If you visit our login page, we will set a temporary cookie to determine if your browser accepts cookies. This cookie contains no personal data and is discarded when you close your browser.

When you log in, we will also set up several cookies to save your login information and your screen display choices. Login cookies last for two days, and screen options cookies last for a year. If you select "Remember Me", your login will persist for two weeks. If you log out of your account, the login cookies will be removed.

If you edit or publish an article, an additional cookie will be saved in your browser. This cookie includes no personal data and simply indicates the post ID of the article you just edited. It expires after 1 day.

Since the establishment of the first Dental School at the College of Medicine of the University of Lagos in 1967, other dental schools came to be and more are still coming on. These Dental Schools have increased the possibilities and capabilities of training of oral and maxillofacial surgeons in Nigeria.

Dr. Godwin Toyin Arotiba was the arrowhead for the establishment of the Nigerian Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (NAOMS). Election of the pioneer Executive Officers, amendment and ratification of the Constitution were conducted in Ibadan on the 16th of April 1994. The late Brigadier Jide Oshuntola was elected the President and Dr Godwin Toyin Arotiba the Secretary General. In 1995 the NAOMS became affiliated with the International Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (IAOMS).

The NAOMS was dormant until 2003 when Dr. Ademola Olaitan, after counsels, deliberations and discussions with Prof. Paul Stoelinga, the then IAOMS president, commenced series of meetings, advocacy and consultations in Lagos and Abuja that culminated in the 1st scientific conference that held at the Lagos University Teaching Hospital in October 2004. A new Executive Committee was elected at this conference with Dr. Ademola Olaitan as the President and Dr Folusho Owotade as the Secretary General.

In the bid to establish the African Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Drs Olaitan and Owotade were invited NAOMS delegates to the IAOMS sponsored group that drafted and ratified the Constitution for the African Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (AfAOMS) in May of 2005 at Nairobi, Kenya. The group also drafted and ratified the byelaws of the association. At the conclusion of the exercise the President of NAOMS, Dr. Ademola Olaitan was elected the first President of the newly inaugurated (AfAOMS) and the African regional representative on the Executive Committee of the IAOMS.

Since 2004, NAOMS has held a yearly conference and elections to the Executive Committee biennially. Other elected Presidents of NAOMS are Dr. Olugbenga Ogunlewe (2006), Dr. Juwon Tunde Arotiba (2010) and Dr. Osagie Akpata (2014).

NAOMS showed her capabilities for international meetings when she hosted the 3rd conference of the African Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons in Abuja, in 2008.Two immediate past